Author Topic: Can empty seat win ?  (Read 7016 times)

hoosier418

  • TDA Member & Active Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 10
Can empty seat win ?
« on: February 19, 2010, 08:33:31 PM »
 This is probably one of the dumbest things I have ever heard of happening. A late player has not arrived and his empty seat is the big blind. Action is folded to the small blind . The idiot in the small blind MUCKS his hand ! Now what ? I was sick the night it happened so I was not present . I'm not sure how I would have handled it . The person in charge at the time just shook his head and pushed the chips to the empty seat since that was the only "live" hand left.
 We are pretty lenient about letting players play their hand if they are on the way to the table . But this guy was'nt even in the building. Maybe the small blind deserves to lose his for being stupid.

Dave Lamb

  • TDA Founding Member
  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 65
Re: Can empty seat win ?
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2010, 09:04:58 PM »
It is so silly to have an empty seat win that the TDA came up with the following rule:

22. At Your Seat
A player must be at his or her seat by the time all players have been dealt complete initial hands in order to have a live hand. A player must be at his/her seat to call time.

Dealers should immediately muck/kill all hands meeting the above criteria- that includes the blinds. Non-existent or absent players cannot win a pot if the tournament uses TDA rules.
« Last Edit: February 19, 2010, 09:15:54 PM by Dave Lamb »

pbrannon

  • TDA Member & Active Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 18
Re: Can empty seat win ?
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2010, 07:26:16 AM »
In our game, if the player is not within view we are also lenient about letting the hand sit until it gets to their turn. But as soon as the SB made ANY action, much or bet, the BB hand would be dead if the player wasn't there.

Even though the SB was stupid here, the BB hand is not live and since the SB doesn't have to show the "walked" hand, he gets the money.

Georg

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 58
    • Concord Card Casino
Re: Can empty seat win ?
« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2010, 10:03:25 PM »
I would give the pot to the SB. The BB hand was dead, the second the last card was dealt. Even if the dealer did not take it away, it is still dead because the player was not in his seat. So the SB was the last player with a live hand and gets the pot.

Georg

Stuart Murray

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 645
Re: Can empty seat win ?
« Reply #4 on: February 24, 2010, 10:12:33 AM »
Ditto Georgs reply

Regards
Stuart

AleaLeedsCardRoom

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 58
Re: Can empty seat win ?
« Reply #5 on: February 27, 2010, 03:15:08 PM »
Hello,
At one of our tournaments recently we had a case where one of the player was playing blackjack while the tournament was running.  I got the other players to blind and in the later levels ante him out.  However after he was away for a couple of levels the other player on the table started to complain that it was unfair on them etc.  As they couldn't win his chips, I told them he had every right to do this as it would be the same if he sat at the table and folded every hand without looking.  We were close to the final table at this point so some of the players on the table suggested that they all sit out and leave the other table playing.  This way they would only post their blinds like the other absent player.
Thankfully they didn't as I am unsure what to do if this had happened.

Any thoughts??

Lewis

Stuart Murray

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 645
Re: Can empty seat win ?
« Reply #6 on: February 27, 2010, 05:36:17 PM »
Hello,
At one of our tournaments recently we had a case where one of the player was playing blackjack while the tournament was running.  I got the other players to blind and in the later levels ante him out.  However after he was away for a couple of levels the other player on the table started to complain that it was unfair on them etc.  As they couldn't win his chips, I told them he had every right to do this as it would be the same if he sat at the table and folded every hand without looking.  We were close to the final table at this point so some of the players on the table suggested that they all sit out and leave the other table playing.  This way they would only post their blinds like the other absent player.
Thankfully they didn't as I am unsure what to do if this had happened.

Any thoughts??

Lewis

Lewis,

This has been discussed in some detail in the following thread:

http://www.pokertda.com/forum/index.php?topic=62.0

As for the whole table going off and not playing you could redraw or warn the players that if everyone goes the tourney cashes pro-rata at current chip counts - that would keep them at the table.

Regards
Stuart