Author Topic: out of turn betting  (Read 6067 times)

W0lfster

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 267
out of turn betting
« on: January 31, 2011, 06:44:49 AM »
Just wondering No limit holdem there are 4 players A, B, C, and D. Player A is first to act on the flop however player B thinks it is his/her go and bets. My question is if player A raises can player B take his/her bet back or is he/her committed to the call but can either call the raise or fold losing thier initial call?

Also I would like a ruling on checking out of turn also.

Cheers.
Andy
:)

chet

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 734
Re: out of turn betting
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2011, 08:54:16 AM »
Wolfster:  The most recent discussion of several on the out of turn topic can be found at:

http://www.pokertda.com/forum/index.php?topic=255.0

DCJ001

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 191
Re: out of turn betting
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2011, 09:05:25 AM »
Plus:

Postflop, when first to act, player A cannot "raise." Postflop, player A, when first to act, has the option of "checking" or "betting."

Post flop, a player cannot raise unless someone has already bet.

Post flop, a player cannot reraise unless someone has already raised.

W0lfster

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 267
Re: out of turn betting
« Reply #3 on: January 31, 2011, 09:26:46 AM »
I apologise I mean there is a bet and player A is to act.

Dave_The_Maori

  • TDA Member & Active Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 39
Re: out of turn betting
« Reply #4 on: January 31, 2011, 09:56:37 PM »
My question is if player A raises can player B take his/her bet back or is he/her committed to the call but can either call the raise or fold losing thier initial call?

I apologise I mean there is a bet and player A is to act.

Once A has indicated that they have been missed, it is at this point that all play should be stopped and taken back to the missed player. It should also be explained to the missed player (In this case A) before they are given their options that any raise would allow B to take back his chips and allow B to reconsider whether to call, re-raise or fold. However, if A were to call the full bet amount, B's chips would remain as a re-raise.

Also I would like a ruling on checking out of turn also.

Once A has indicated that they have been missed, it is at this point that all play should be stopped and taken back to the missed player. It should also be explained to the missed player (In this case A) before they are given their options that any bet would allow B to take back his chips and allow B to reconsider whether to call, re-raise or fold. However, if A were to check, B's chips would remain as a bet.

As the Tournament Director, I would issue a warning to B as a first offence or a penalty if it is a re-occuring offence. If this is in my Casino, I would also talk to the dealer (After their rounds) and make sure they are following table games procedures. But that's just me.