Author Topic: show one or show both cards?  (Read 7177 times)

Luca P.

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
    • Alea Casino Nottingham
show one or show both cards?
« on: August 25, 2010, 08:15:19 AM »
hi everybody
when facing a non-showdown hand, player who forces others to fold and show only one of his hole cards, does he have to show both? We are talking of a hand which could end at the fourth street for ezample
Card Room Manager

Alea Casino
108 Upper Parliament Street
Nottingham
NG1 6LF
Tel 0115 871 7288

Stuart Murray

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 645
Re: show one or show both cards?
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2010, 09:17:08 AM »
Under TDA rules there is no requirement to show one, show both. A player with the last live hand at the table may elect to show any portion of their hole cards without redress.

Regards
Stuart

Luca P.

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
    • Alea Casino Nottingham
Re: show one or show both cards?
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2010, 09:24:44 AM »
only at showdown they have to show both... Alright i think I might change something in my rules  ;D
Card Room Manager

Alea Casino
108 Upper Parliament Street
Nottingham
NG1 6LF
Tel 0115 871 7288

Stuart Murray

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 645
Re: show one or show both cards?
« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2010, 04:16:53 PM »
theoretically no.  If it goes to showdown and for example two players contest a pot and player a shows one card which the other player cannot beat and player b then elects to muck his hand without showdown the other player would not be required to show his other hole card as he has the only live hand remaining.

In stalemate situations both card would need to be shown however, and remember the Roland De Wolfe v Thomas Reinkemeier:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mr2agX80ZyE

If RDW had shown both hole cards he would of won the pot but TR held onto his hand until RDW mucked his and then showed down an inferior holding.

Regards
Stuart

AleaLeedsCardRoom

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 58
Re: show one or show both cards?
« Reply #4 on: August 25, 2010, 04:45:26 PM »
Iwould disagree with that, as from RRoP,
the showdown rule number 1:
"To win any part of pot, a player must show all of his cards faceup on the table, whether they were usedi nthe final hand played or not"

I take that as when it is a show down even if everyone else mucks their hand them someone must table a hand to be awarded the pot.