Author Topic: EV change when running it twice  (Read 5284 times)

Sammyy90

• TDA Member
  • Head Brush/Poker Supervisor in Cosmopol Stockholm.
EV change when running it twice
« on: October 26, 2022, 11:46:46 AM »
So I work as a headbrush in sweden and our rule of running it twice is as following:
For a single pot everybody involved in that pot needs to agree to run it twice for it to be avaliable, however when we have side pots our rule slightly changes and we have a EV discussion because of this.
Player A is all in on main pot while B and C have a side pot, players B and C can still run it twice even though player A doesnt want to, however if player A wins the first run then there will be no run it twice. For it to be run twice either player B or C needs to win the first run.

My question is, can the EV change in this situation?

Base scenario when all players “run it once”. This will give us true values for EV and expected win in the long term for each player:

Player A A♠K♠ Player B A♥A♦ Player C 8♠7♠
Board
A♣5♠Q♠7♥

Player A: 16.67% Player B: 83.33% Player C: 0% EV Main Pot

Player A: 83.33% Player B: 16.67% EV Side Pot

Player A: 300.06 SEK Player B: 2166.58 SEK Player C: 133.36 SEK Expected win SEK

And now let’s take a look at scenario when player A “runs it once” but players B and C “run it twice” with our currently valid rules:

Player A A♠K♠  Player B A♥A♦ Player C 8♠7♠
Board
A♣5♠Q♠7♥

Player A: 16.67% Player B: 83.33% Player C: 0% EV Main Pot 1 street

Player A: 83.33% * Player B: 82% = 68.33% Player C 83.33% * 18% = 15% EV Main Pot 2 street

Player A: 16.67%  Player B: 83.33%/2 + 68.33%/2 = 75.83% Player C: 0%/2 + 15%/2 = 7.5% Total EV Main Pot

Player B: 83.33% Player C: 16.67% EV Side Pot

Player A: 300.06 SEK Player B: 2031.58 SEK Player C: 268,36 SEK Expected win SEK

Is my math wrong?
« Last Edit: October 26, 2022, 11:48:04 AM by Sammyy90 »

Sammyy90

• TDA Member
  • Head Brush/Poker Supervisor in Cosmopol Stockholm.