Author Topic: Finishing ITM without being dealt a single hand  (Read 3412 times)

Pietro3000

  • TDA Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Finishing ITM without being dealt a single hand
« on: February 01, 2019, 12:03:54 PM »
Hello guys,

I just ran into a situation during a satellite:

Scenario:

10 Seats satellite
Late Registration still open
11th place would get the residual prize
While 3 players got involved in a 3 way all in pot a 12th player registered and took his seat awaiting to being dealt.
Previous hand (3 way all in) two players got busted
The 12th player that jumped in at the last second all the sudden finished in 9th place without even being dealt a single hand, while the 2 eliminated players officially ended in 12 th position and 11th (residual prize close to the seat value amount, so no complaints).

The player that just busted realized of the scenario  shortly after and the claims started.

So what would be the ruling in this cases in tournaments with extended Late Reg that may lead to such scenarios.

Player that was let out of the ITM claimed that he was mislead by the sense that that the 11 players left would collect a prize.

Player that took advantage claimed that he made his registration on time and his chips were in the way to the table and was meant to being dealt in the next hand.

Other players blamed the room for allowing Late Reg period way to extensive
Thank you, Pura Vida

Pietro3000

BillM16

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 571
Re: Finishing ITM without being dealt a single hand
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2019, 04:23:22 PM »
TDA rules do not cover payout or structure. House rules apply, especially in these exotic varieties.

Boris

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
  • International Poker dealer (EU)
Re: Finishing ITM without being dealt a single hand
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2019, 05:43:08 PM »
Hello folks,

I know for sure that when you are playing online, you can't be ITM if the late registration period is not over.
It happened many times on a new French gaming room a few years ago.

Players had to keep playing until the late registration is over.

Of course, online and live are different, but this way of managing ITM and late reg is very interesting since it allows new players to try to take a really decent chance to get a prize.

WSOPMcGee

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 334
    • The R.O.P.E.
Re: Finishing ITM without being dealt a single hand
« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2019, 01:55:25 PM »
Hi Pietro3000,


You can not finish ITM without being dealt a single hand. In effect, player 12 has not participated. Registering in and of itself does not make a registrant a participant. In order to become an official participant of a tournament you must have played a hand. Not merely to have registered, or even to have had your stack dealt in. You must physically be present and have looked at cards and acted upon a hand (Check, bet, fold).
In this situation, you refund player 12 and payout players 11 and 10 according to chip count if the players busted on same table or by combining the prizes of 11th and 10th and chopping equally between 11th and 10th finishers.
@wsopmcgee on Twitter