Author Topic: 2015 Rules 1.0 - #16 Non All-In Showdowns  (Read 4103 times)

BillM16

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 570
2015 Rules 1.0 - #16 Non All-In Showdowns
« on: August 25, 2015, 10:41:25 AM »
Instead of:

"A: In a non all-in showdown, if cards are not spontaneously tabled or discarded, the TD may enforce an order of show."

How about:

"A: In a non all-in showdown, if cards are not spontaneously tabled or discarded, the order of show is as follows:"

The former might suggest that the TD may be called to enforce something different.

BillM16

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 570
Re: 2015 Rules 1.0 - #16 Non All-In Showdowns
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2015, 09:00:49 AM »
Here is a suggestion on alternative wording:

16: Non All-In Showdowns

At showdown, if no players are all-in, players may voluntarily table their cards faceup or discard them facedown in any order.  Otherwise, the order is as follows:

If betting occurred on the final street then the order begins with the last aggressive player.  Otherwise, the order begins with the player who was first to act on the final street.

If none of the players table their cards then the last player holding live cards is the winner and may choose to either table or discard their cards once the pot has been awarded.
« Last Edit: August 26, 2015, 09:11:41 AM by BillM16 »

MikeB

  • Administrator
  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1156
Re: 2015 Rules 1.0 - #16 Non All-In Showdowns
« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2015, 11:50:48 AM »
Here is a suggestion on alternative wording:

16: Non All-In Showdowns

At showdown, if no players are all-in, players may voluntarily table their cards faceup or discard them facedown in any order.  Otherwise, the order is as follows:

If betting occurred on the final street then the order begins with the last aggressive player.  Otherwise, the order begins with the player who was first to act on the final street.

If none of the players table their cards then the last player holding live cards is the winner and may choose to either table or discard their cards once the pot has been awarded.


Not disagreeing with the above, but isn't it what Rule 16 currently says ?
« Last Edit: August 26, 2015, 11:56:10 AM by MikeB »

BillM16

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 570
Re: 2015 Rules 1.0 - #16 Non All-In Showdowns
« Reply #3 on: August 26, 2015, 04:28:15 PM »
Not disagreeing with the above, but isn't it what Rule 16 currently says ?

Yes Mike, they say the same thing only a bit differently and not necessarily any better. 
« Last Edit: August 27, 2015, 09:13:56 AM by BillM16 »

BillM16

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 570
Re: 2015 Rules 1.0 - #16 Non All-In Showdowns
« Reply #4 on: August 27, 2015, 09:14:45 AM »
I noticed during Summit there was quite a bit of discussion around alternate wording to make #16 easier to read and to comprehend. The Summit video discussion can be found here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bc_TpYIpiD0 and starts at 1:19:30 and lasts about 6 minutes.  I'm still a TDA newbie and not sure of the review process.  Please let me know if it is too late to make suggestions along these lines.