Author Topic: claiming pots after playes muck at showdwon  (Read 2573 times)

donkey-bait

  • TDA Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
claiming pots after playes muck at showdwon
« on: July 09, 2015, 05:48:43 PM »
HI all/
I am hoping to get some clarification over a situation that one of my tournament league players keep arguing about. Situation is thus. river dealt and all remaining players check. player/s start  to muck cards, if all remaining player/s bar one muck does that player have to table his cards to claim the pot or can he just muck too?  My take on this is that all betting has been completed and therefore the hand it at showdown and someone must showdown a hand to claim the pot? 
Please can I get some clarification as to how the TDA and other members rule this situation
Thanks
Eddy Brooks

Uniden32

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
  • Tournament Director at the Isle Casino
Re: claiming pots after playes muck at showdwon
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2015, 06:29:30 AM »
Last live hand will win the pot.

At the recent Summit it was agreed upon that the last player with cards will not have to show their hand, and they will win the pot.
Ralph Brandt
Tournament Coordinator
Isle Casino - Pompano Beach, FL
@uniden32

MikeB

  • Administrator
  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1156
Re: claiming pots after playes muck at showdwon
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2015, 09:56:43 AM »
Eddy: To add to Uniden's reply:

1: In your example there was no betting on the river and it's not an all-in showdown. Hence no cards must be shown if all but one hand mucks face down.

2: If there was betting on the river, any caller of the last aggressor has a right to see "the hand he paid to see" on request. This was voted in overwhelmingly at the 2013 Summit, it just wasn't then written into the rules in 2013 because it could leave the impression that's the only condition for which a request can be made. Per TDA rules, the requesting caller must retain or have tabled his hand. Note this right does not extend to one caller asking to see the hand of another caller.

3: If in your example there was a player all-in prior to the river, all hands would have to be shown.
« Last Edit: July 10, 2015, 09:58:23 AM by MikeB »