Author Topic: Player not in seat  (Read 3272 times)

k_clarkie

  • TDA Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Player not in seat
« on: November 09, 2013, 04:55:05 PM »
We are a very small poker room in the process of switching over to TDA rules.

If a player leaves the tournament early, due to whatever reason.
How does TDA want me to handle the "All In" hand? Any and all hands up to this point are being folded due to the "Not in your seat" rule.
But as of now I am letting the cards play on the hand that is all in.
What should I be doing?

Thank!
~kevin

chet

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 734
Re: Player not in seat
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2013, 06:35:33 PM »
Welcome:

In my opinion, the hand is dead.  The player is not present and therefore cannot win the hand.  The fact that he is "all-in" is not material.

I would not, I repeat not, consider this as a typical "all-in" situation where the cards have to be turned face up as soon as all betting action is complete.  There is no point in turning the cards face up as his hand should have been mucked as soon as the last 2nd hole card is dealt to the button player.

This players chips go in the pot, his cards go in the muck and the hand plays out.

Chet
« Last Edit: November 09, 2013, 08:20:33 PM by chet »

K-Lo

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 869
  • @AskTheTD on Twitter
    • Ask the Tournament Director
Re: Player not in seat
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2013, 08:30:42 PM »
Agreed with Chet.  The "At Your Seat" rule takes precedence.

Nick C

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3310
    • http://www.pokertda.com/forum/index.php?action=profile;u=557;sa=forumProfile
Re: Player not in seat
« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2013, 09:50:06 PM »
I also agree with Chet.

Tristan

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 453
Re: Player not in seat
« Reply #4 on: November 10, 2013, 10:19:03 AM »
I agree, a player who was not at the table is not able to win a hand.
Tristan
@TristanWilberg on Twitter