Author Topic: Exposing cards angle  (Read 3277 times)

Steven

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 68
Exposing cards angle
« on: May 27, 2013, 11:21:15 PM »

A quite common scenario occurred tonight which in this case had no ill effects, but it got me thinking a what if!

Relatively short stack pushes ali-in midway thru tournament  but still has enough chips for the big stack not to insta-call. Big stack playfully flashes 8-5 offuit and asks "can you beat this?" While still holding cards but looking like she's gonna muck. Short stack shows AK and big stack mucks. What if big stack didn't muck, but instead called?  The purpose being she now sees she's live and is not facing an overpair. I think the hands are still live, but what penalties would you invoke to either of them?  (Using rules 1 and 50 I presume)

50: Penalties and Disqualification

A penalty may be invoked if a player exposes any card with action pending, throws a card off the table, violates the one-player-to-a-hand rule, or similar incidents occur. Penalties will be invoked in cases of soft play, abuse, disruptive behavior, or cheating. Penalties available to the tournament director include verbal warnings, “missed hand” penalties, and disqualification. Except for a one-hand penalty, missed hand penalties will be assessed as follows: The offender will miss one hand for every player, including the offender, who is at the table when the penalty is given multiplied by the number of rounds specified in the penalty. For the period of the penalty, the offender shall remain away from the table but will continue to be dealt in.

Tournament staff can assess a 1-hand penalty, 1-, 2-, 3-, or 4-round penalties or disqualification. A player who is disqualified shall have his or her chips removed from play. Repeat infractions are subject to escalating penalties.

MikeB

  • Administrator
  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1156
Re: Exposing cards angle
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2013, 12:41:00 AM »
A quite common scenario occurred tonight which in this case had no ill effects, but it got me thinking a what if!

Relatively short stack pushes ali-in midway thru tournament  but still has enough chips for the big stack not to insta-call. Big stack playfully flashes 8-5 offuit and asks "can you beat this?" While still holding cards but looking like she's gonna muck. Short stack shows AK and big stack mucks. What if big stack didn't muck, but instead called?  

Hey Steve, thanks for an interesting post and all-too-common situation.... IMO that would be a valid call. The short-stack shouldn't have revealed his cards here... but that doesn't auto-kill the big-stacks hand just b/c she revealed them...  the "big stack" may be subject to a penalty for revealing her cards btw.


The purpose being she now sees she's live and is not facing an overpair. I think the hands are still live,

agreed, I'd say they are live based on the info.

but what penalties would you invoke to either of them?  (Using rules 1 and 50 I presume)

Yes, using those rules but also my experience. It just sounds like two players heads-up going off flashing cards to each other. i'm not going to get too exciited about this. It's all non-standard, ultimately Rule 1, of which I'm going to interfere as little as possible.  I'll probably give both of them a penalty for pre-mature card exposure after the hand at this point in your OP.


50: Penalties and Disqualification

A penalty may be invoked if a player exposes any card with action pending, throws a card off the table, violates the one-player-to-a-hand rule, or similar incidents occur. Penalties will be invoked in cases of soft play, abuse, disruptive behavior, or cheating. Penalties available to the tournament director include verbal warnings, “missed hand” penalties, and disqualification. Except for a one-hand penalty, missed hand penalties will be assessed as follows: The offender will miss one hand for every player, including the offender, who is at the table when the penalty is given multiplied by the number of rounds specified in the penalty. For the period of the penalty, the offender shall remain away from the table but will continue to be dealt in.

Tournament staff can assess a 1-hand penalty, 1-, 2-, 3-, or 4-round penalties or disqualification. A player who is disqualified shall have his or her chips removed from play. Repeat infractions are subject to escalating penalties.
« Last Edit: May 28, 2013, 12:44:51 AM by MikeB »

Tristan

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 453
Re: Exposing cards angle
« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2013, 02:53:56 PM »
I agree with Mike on all points.

In this case, I would probably just give them each a verbal warning...unless they are repeat offenders.  ;D
Tristan
@TristanWilberg on Twitter

K-Lo

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 869
  • @AskTheTD on Twitter
    • Ask the Tournament Director
Re: Exposing cards angle
« Reply #3 on: May 29, 2013, 06:26:42 AM »
I agree with Mike & Tristan as well.

Stuart Murray

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 645
Re: Exposing cards angle
« Reply #4 on: July 27, 2013, 05:09:35 PM »
Agreed with all above, if the player in the BB did go ahead and make the call and won I would enforce a penalty which cost her more than she had won in the hand.

Regard
Stuart