Author Topic: moving from PLO to HOLDEM  (Read 2979 times)

markmagic

  • TDA Member & Active Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 16
moving from PLO to HOLDEM
« on: February 06, 2012, 01:35:03 PM »
hi guys i need your help...

a player from pot limit omaha 10-20 blinds transfer to no limit holdem 10-20 blinds,
the question is if he bring all of his chips to no limit holdem table or he can buy in
at least the max buy in?


for example i have 7500 chips in pot limit omaha 10-20 blinds and i want to transfer
at no limit holdem 10-20 blinds do i have to bring this chips or i can cash out my chips
and buy in at least 4000.

chet

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 734
Re: moving from PLO to HOLDEM
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2012, 07:04:36 PM »
1.  I think your question would be more appropriate in the "Live Cash Game Poker" category.  I will ask the moderator to move it.
2.  I also think we need some additional information:

Was the request to move to the Hold'em Game made after this player was in the PLO game, or
when he came into room there was no Hold'em seat and so he was playing PLO while waiting for a seat?

And the more I think about it, the more I am inclined to believe that it makes no difference.  He would NOT have to bring more into the Hold'em game than the minimum buyin.  My reasoning has to do with the fact that he is changing games and nothing to do with the 'size' of the game (the fact that both games have 10/20 blinds)).

Lets see what some of the other Casino Managers have to say.

Chet
     

ew2484

  • TDA Member & Active Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 20
Re: moving from PLO to HOLDEM
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2012, 10:49:55 PM »
I believe standard rules would be as follows: The player may bring his entire stack, provided it falls within any minimum/maximum buy in criteria set by the cardroom. He also has the option to reduce or increase his stack as he sees fit, again provided he stays within the preset min/max buy ins

K-Lo

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 869
  • @AskTheTD on Twitter
    • Ask the Tournament Director
Re: moving from PLO to HOLDEM
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2012, 11:18:36 AM »
If you are moving to a different game -- whether the game is different because the stakes are different and/or the game being played itself is different (as in your case) --  you are deemed to have cashed out and must buy-in into the new game with any amount that meets the min-max requirements applicable to the new game.  Any chips in excess of the new game's max buy-in can go into your pocket or be cashed out.