Author Topic: Player Leaves  (Read 7770 times)

Martin L. Waller

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 55
Player Leaves
« on: June 13, 2010, 10:15:56 AM »
I was recently asked a question and I think I answered correctly but can not find written back-up.

A player has made it to the money. When play resumes after a break he doesn’t return to the table.   What happens to his chips and winnings?

I said that the chips stay in play until blinded out. If he was in tenth place and in the money he could possibly make it higher in the money if his chips last. The money won by him and his chips is owed to him.

If the player was disqualified, that's different. His chips would be removed. But, that's not the case here.

Do you agree and where is it written?

Good game to you,

Stuart Murray

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 645
Re: Player Leaves
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2010, 02:08:52 PM »
Hi Martin,

There has been considerable conversation about this matter and I think it is scheduled for the next summit to create a rule,

I think the consensus is that if you are satisfied they are not returning the chips come off straight away and they would then receive the relevant position at this time including if it was a cash, and if there is any doubt as to their return the chips stay in play - how long for is a decision you must make as a house rule.  I have a rule where if they have not returned after two levels their chips come off for certain games but that is sometimes not practical to the bigger tournaments.

If it was my game and he did not return before heads-up (i.e. his stack and two others remaining in the tourney I would bust him at the point he had left, and all other players would advance a pay scale higher, but that's just my way of doing it.)

There are no hard and fast rules ATM for the situation, it is down to your interpretation of the situation unless you have an existing house rule to cover it.



  • TDA Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Player Leaves
« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2010, 06:46:56 PM »
To me, it's pretty straightforward, and this is my vote for how the TDA should rule...

The chips should stay in play until the player is blinded out.  Anything else is an injustice.  If you are going to take the chips off the table, then you owe the player their buy-in back. (unless they were booted out)

Additionally, when the absent player is all-in, they cannot win the hand.  Their hand is mucked immediately after the deal is complete and they therefore cannot win.