Author Topic: Asking about raise in a hand? (1 hand 1 player)  (Read 8013 times)

Briankdk

  • TDA Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Asking about raise in a hand? (1 hand 1 player)
« on: May 11, 2023, 11:46:38 AM »
3 players, flop comes, 1 player (who is in the hand)  asks “who raised preflop?”, Can 1 of  the players in the hand answer ? Can 1 players who is not in the hand answer ?

Dave Miller

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 436
  • Lead dealer / rules guru for World Free Poker
    • Dave MIller Gaming
Re: Asking about raise in a hand? (1 hand 1 player)
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2023, 07:59:34 AM »
Poker is a game of observation. Each player should be observant enough to know who bet or raised.

To have a question about a prior street be answered would violate the one-player-to-a-hand rule.

For example, player A raised, player B & C called.

On the next street, player C starts thinking, "wasn't it player A who raised? He never raises," and then asks who made the prior raise. Obviously, getting that information could affect how player C plays out the hand (and maybe even subsequent hands). That could be construed as collusion.

Bottom line: The question should not be answered by anyone.

For the record, I can't remember anyone asking about the prior street while a hand was still in play.

Current street? Sure. When asked, the simple answer, "The guy with the chips in front" is simple and obvious. And acceptable.
Superstitions are silly, childish, irrational rituals, born out of fear of the unknown.
But how much does it cost to knock on wood?