Author Topic: How much to raise?  (Read 63 times)

ShaneP15

  • TDA Member & Active Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 12
How much to raise?
« on: April 15, 2019, 04:59:41 PM »
After the flop. 2,000 blinds. 4 players in a hand.

1) First guy bet 2,000. Second guy  raise 4,000. Third guy all in 5,000. How much can the 4th guy raise?

Steff0111

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 45
Re: How much to raise?
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2019, 02:18:09 AM »
The biggest bet or raise, witch is 2,000.
So 5,000 + 2,000 = 7,000
So-if he wants to raise- he MUST raise at least to 7,000.

ShaneP15

  • TDA Member & Active Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 12
Re: How much to raise?
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2019, 11:09:11 AM »
Thanks. Do you know how would Limit Game works?

Nick C

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3195
    • http://www.pokertda.com/forum/index.php?action=profile;u=557;sa=forumProfile
Re: How much to raise?
« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2019, 08:58:00 AM »
Hello, ShaneP15

 Limit games generally have a three-raise limit. an example would be: In a $10 and $20  game on the first "street" or betting round...the under the gun player facing a $10 blind, may call 10, fold, or raise to 20...that's it. Of course, when any player is going all-in it can affect raise limitations during that round. Let's say that the game being played is 10 and 20 hold'em...4 players pre-flop. Adam is under the gun and his options are: call the big blind (10)...fold, or raise. If Adam decides to raise he must raise 10 more for a total of 20. Consider this: if Adam has 21 he cannot even raise the extra 1. Okay, Adam calls 10. Bonnie announces "raise!" She must raise to 20.

 To better answer your question, let's say Bonnie only has 15?...if she decides to go all-in her 5 increase is actually considered a raise because it is at least 50% of the required amount to raise. If Bonnie is all-in for 14...because her short all-in is less than 50% of the required amount, it is not considered a raise and will not be considered in the raise limit. If Bonnie went all-in for 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 or 20...it is considered a raise. If Bonnie goes all-in for 11, 12, 13, or 14 (less than 50%) it is not considered a raise even though it increases the required amount for the next player to call.

 Please note: when any player raises less than the required amount, it will alter the "cap" for that round. Consider a normal pre-flop round of betting. Adam calls 10, Bonnie raises to 20, Charlie raises to 30 and Dennis raises to 40. That is the "cap" for that betting round. A bet and three raises. Now let's consider that Adam calls 10, Bonnie goes all-in for 15, Charlie raises to 25 and Dennis raises to 35...that is the cap because Bonnie's short all-in (15...50%) is considered a full raise.

 I hope I'm explaining this so you can understand.

 If Adam calls and Bonnie goes all-in with 13, Charlie may call 13, fold, or complete the raise to 20...(not 23) In this scenario Bonnies 13 (not 50%) is ignored when considering the three-raise limit.