Author Topic: Incorrect blinds posted  (Read 3650 times)


  • TDA Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Incorrect blinds posted
« on: November 28, 2018, 11:53:55 AM »
I'm sure this has come up before, but when searching I did not find an answer.

Here's what happened.  Seat positions shown are for the start of Hand 1.

Seat 1:  Button
Seat 2:  Small Blind
Seat 3:  Big Blind
Seat 4:  UTG
Seat 5:  UTG +1

1.  At the conclusion of Hand 1, the player in Seat 3 (big blind) was eliminated.
2.  At the start of the Hand 2, the button was moved to Seat 2, with Seat 4 posting the small blind and Seat 5 posting the big blind (whoops!).
4.  At the conclusion on Hand 2, the button was moved to Seat 3 as a dead button, with Seat 4 and Seat 5 now realizing they will need to post the small and big blinds two times in a row.

What is the correct ruling to resolve this problem?


  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 571
Re: Incorrect blinds posted
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2018, 03:22:16 PM »
Welcome to the forum ehardman.

Sometimes, common poker rules are not found in the TDA Rules.  In some cases, the relevant rule can be found in Roberts Rules of Poker (RRoP).

RRoP Version 11

1.   In button games, if it is discovered that the button was placed incorrectly on the previous hand, the button and blinds will be corrected for the new hand in a manner that gives every player one chance for each position on the round (if possible).

So, to correct the error made in hand #2, in hand #3, the dead button would be seat #3 and seat #4 would be the BB, and there would be no SB. In hand #4, the button would move to seat #4, seat #5 would be SB, and seat #6 would be BB.

« Last Edit: November 28, 2018, 05:34:25 PM by BillM16 »


  • TDA Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Incorrect blinds posted
« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2018, 06:11:08 PM »
Thank you. Eight years lurking but first post.