Author Topic: Who gets the pot?  (Read 5899 times)

goldendd

  • TDA Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Who gets the pot?
« on: May 18, 2010, 01:17:45 PM »
NLH Live tournament...the first hand after the break the big blind does not make it back to the table before the last card is dealt. The rule is if you are not at the table when the button gets their second card your hand is dead. Everyone passes around to the small blind. The small blind does not say anything or put any chips in the pot, he just throws his hand away, reaches over and grabs the BB. The dealer doesn't know what just happened so he does not push the antes to the player and calls the Floor. Who gets the pot? Please reply with a reason for your answer. Thank you.


« Last Edit: May 18, 2010, 03:42:50 PM by goldendd »

chet

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 734
Re: Who gets the pot?
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2010, 03:57:32 PM »
Although this is a mess, mostly because the dealer (assuming this is NOT a player dealt event) did not do his/her job, the short answer is that the SB gets the pot.  The BB player CANNOT win the pot, in fact his hand should have been declared dead and mucked as soon as the button received his/her 2nd card.  Had that been done properly (according to the rule you provided) there would be no need for this discussion.

Hope this helps!!

goldendd

  • TDA Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Who gets the pot?
« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2010, 07:35:17 PM »
This happened at a major casino with professional dealers. Are you saying the SB should always get the pot or he should get it because he has the last live hand? For example, lets say the small blind accidently acts out of turn. Now the button is the only player left with a live hand and still has a right to act. At this point if he is smart enough to at least verbally declare something he would get the pot. But what if he doesn't, then what?. I am not trying to be a nit, this actually happened and has been a topic of discussion for a long time. I know there cant be a black and white rule for everything but there must be something to base the decision on besides judgement or best interest of the game.

Stuart Murray

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 645
Re: Who gets the pot?
« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2010, 06:18:54 AM »
under TDA rules the dealer should of killed the BB's hand immediately after finishing dealing whole cards, before the pre-flop round of betting commenced.  The SB get's the pot as he is the only person with a live hand - he does not require to raise or call in order to win it.

Regards
Stuart

Nick C

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3324
    • http://www.pokertda.com/forum/index.php?action=profile;u=557;sa=forumProfile
Re: Who gets the pot?
« Reply #4 on: May 19, 2010, 12:49:53 PM »
Goldendd,

  If you insist on an answer other than the one's quoted to you by Stuart and Chet. Leave both blinds in the pot for the next hand. Rule #1. It probably won't ever happen again anyway.

Nick C

Martin L. Waller

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 55
Re: Who gets the pot?
« Reply #5 on: May 25, 2010, 07:55:38 PM »
Hi fellows,

How can any thing else be right?
There is only one live hand left he has to win it all.
You canít separate the antes form the blinds in a hand.
You canít leave money in for the next hand.
If you make him raise as a formality youíre telling him how to play.
Just give him the pot and start the next hand,

Good luck,
Martin