Author Topic: all in or call ?  (Read 12679 times)

Brian Vickers

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 454
  • Poker Manager
Re: all in or call ?
« Reply #15 on: April 11, 2016, 12:51:34 PM »
Brian,

Certainly we can agree that your example and the one at the beginning of this post are completely different scenarios.

In your scenario, I'm with you, this is a call all day long.

In the scenario in the OP, you're ruling this a call as well ?

From your statement we've turned what can be a black and white rule into a judgment call rule.  Is it enough that the player should be all-in or not?  If the blind is 200 and I only have 500 left and I throw that 500 in without statement am I all-in?  Where's the cutoff if you rule the original post an all-in.  Overchip rule needs to remain in effect.  If we rule one player all-in one time and not all-in in my example and you get questioned, are you going to tell the player "well, it wasn't that much more so I think he was meaning to go all-in"?  If the alternative is we have a black and white standard and we hold players to clarifying their actions then that's the stance I will be taking.

Nick C

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3359
    • http://www.pokertda.com/forum/index.php?action=profile;u=557;sa=forumProfile
Re: all in or call ?
« Reply #16 on: April 11, 2016, 01:29:15 PM »
Max...If we could get the players to make their intentions clear...wow! We could probably condense the Rules for Poker by 90% and eliminate some floor positions, too!. ;D

Max D

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 172
Re: all in or call ?
« Reply #17 on: April 11, 2016, 01:50:57 PM »
Nick you are so right...  Nice to see you back.

Max
Max D
Less talking, more dealing.

Nick C

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3359
    • http://www.pokertda.com/forum/index.php?action=profile;u=557;sa=forumProfile
Re: all in or call ?
« Reply #18 on: April 11, 2016, 02:41:38 PM »
Thanks, Max.

lukeo83

  • TDA Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: all in or call ?
« Reply #19 on: May 29, 2016, 02:41:33 PM »
its all in by pushing all his chips in one motion he doesnt have to verbally say all in if he stated call then put them out he could of got change and the oversize chip rule is when they throw out 1 over chip without stating raise its a call this guy has pushed all his chips into the center so therefore its a allin!

Nick C

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3359
    • http://www.pokertda.com/forum/index.php?action=profile;u=557;sa=forumProfile
Re: all in or call ?
« Reply #20 on: May 29, 2016, 07:06:22 PM »
Lukeo83,

 Sorry but, if the player were initiating the bet, he would be all-in. because he was not the original bettor, it's a call. It has some similarities to a player tossing 2 5K chips into the pot on the turn when under the gun...he has just bet 10K. The same player, facing a 12K bet and tossing 2 10K chips into the pot has only called.