Author Topic: Rake on split pots and side pots together  (Read 9627 times)

Luca P.

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
    • Alea Casino Nottingham
Rake on split pots and side pots together
« on: March 11, 2018, 07:45:40 PM »
Hi All, I had this situation on a cash game 1/1 with rake 5% capped at 5 (max pot is 100 then)
At the showdown, we have a main pot (60) and a side pot (50)
Main pot is split, while side pot is won entirely by a player (who split the main obv and wins 80).
Our house rules dictate that we do not rake split pots, but now the question is: would you rake the side pot that was not split?
If yes, how much would you take, considering the cap at 5 for pots over 100?
My dealer decided to rake the side pot for 2 because, should he take rake from the main as well, it would be capped to 5.
Card Room Manager

Alea Casino
108 Upper Parliament Street
Tel 0115 871 7288

Dave Miller

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 435
  • Lead dealer / rules guru for World Free Poker
    • Dave MIller Gaming
Re: Rake on split pots and side pots together
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2018, 07:52:22 AM »
No rake from split pots? That’s a great, player friendly rule. 5% is also very player friendly. That considered, I think the dealer did the right thing.

Had the main pot not been split, only 3 would be raked from it, so only the remaining 2 can be raked from the side.

You cannot take the full rake from the side. After all, suppose the main split pot was 78, and 3 on the side. What then? I’d say take 1 from the side. Either that or no rake at all.
Superstitions are silly, childish, irrational rituals, born out of fear of the unknown.
But how much does it cost to knock on wood?

Nick C

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3359
Re: Rake on split pots and side pots together
« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2018, 10:18:05 AM »
Hi, Luca

 I agree with Dave. I have seen conflicting rules pertaining to raking side pots, but they were too complicated and often seemed to be far too harsh on the winner of a meager side pot.  I have run cash games years ago with a 5% rake with a $5 max(long ago).

 First I'd like to make mention that you seem to indicate that you are raking the pots at the end of the betting. This is a mistake that could be easily erased if you followed dealer protocol for cash games...that is to take the rake at specific intervals. i,e, first $1 taken at 20...the second at 40...the third at 60...etc. If the main pot has $55 ($2 rake) and the side pot has $6 I would never consider taking a $1 from the side pot even though it brings the total of the combined pots over $60. You might want to grab it though if the main pot winner gets it all! ;D