Author Topic: Pot has been given to the wrong player.  (Read 3236 times)


  • TDA Member & Active Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 29
Pot has been given to the wrong player.
« on: June 29, 2015, 08:36:06 AM »
THNL Tournament
(rules: #1 Vs #2 Vs #13 Vs #22 Vs #30)

Two players at show down on the board: 5c-6d-7c-10c-Jc. Player A: 5d-6c & Player B: 3s-4s.
Dealer expose to player A two pairs (player A is the first to show the cards) and then player B showes his cards and says straight. Player A & dealer didn't see the winning combination and pot has been given to the player B.
Dealer collects the cards and starts to shuffle for new hands. In that moment players start a discussion of the regularity of the “past hand”. Dealer stops the action and call the TD. Player B insisted on the rule #22 “new hand”, and that the pot should been his (he has obviously seen the mistake, however he didn't tell about it).

1) Would it been possible to reconstruct the game in that moment (“new hand”rule #22), before the cards have been dealt?
2) Hypotetically speaking, player A is All-in and he is not present at the table (rule #2 & 30). Delaer turns his cards at the show down moment and say player out? Player A comes back and... what?


  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 571
Re: Pot has been given to the wrong player.
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2015, 06:51:17 AM »
21: Disputed Pots
The right to dispute a hand ends when a new hand begins. See Rule 22.

TDA 21 pertains to your #1 question.  It would be hard for me as a TD to use rule #1 to override the outcome when the board and the hands are no longer visible.  It would require unanimous agreement on the winner and the pot amount before I would use #1 to correct the error.

As to your hypothetical #2 question:  It is the player's responsibility to table his hand.  The dealer should never table a hand for any player.  Obviously, this is a contrived situation that should never occur.   Why would a player go all-in and then leave the table with a "live" hand unless they were beat.  That is tantamount to mucking their hand.
« Last Edit: June 30, 2015, 06:53:14 AM by BillM16 »

Brian Vickers

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 454
  • Poker Manager
Re: Pot has been given to the wrong player.
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2015, 10:29:07 AM »
New language on protecting a hand states that a player must table his hand AND protect it through the reading of the hand.  As TD you want to get the pot right.  If you can reconstruct and you think it was brought up for dispute in time then reconstruct the pot, but the player has not protected himself by seeing that he has a winner.