POKER TOURNAMENT RULES QUESTIONS & DISCUSSIONS => Poker TDA Rules & Procedures Questions, General => Topic started by: W0lfster on September 16, 2020, 02:13:33 AM

Title: General rules regarding blinds and hand for hand.
Post by: W0lfster on September 16, 2020, 02:13:33 AM

I am just wondering big the answers to these questions if you could please help me.

1. NL Hold’em. Blinds 5/10. Preflop the big blind only has $9 and goes all in, $1 short of the actual BB. What are the options for the UTG? Can he call the $9 or is he/she forced to make a full call to $10 instead as well as the other players? I’ve also heard some cardrooms won’t allow you to be dealt in when you are either the SB or BB if you can’t cover them. What is correct here?

2. Dead button rule. I understand if both the small and big blind are busted, the BB is posted only for the next round and the SB is dead. What happens however if the SB BB and UTG bust on the same hand? Are blinds posted on the next hand? If so who?

3. Also if the SB and BB go bust and the next hand the only posted BB then goes bust, what happens with the hand after?

4. Is hand for hand only used on the bubble? As soon as the bubble is burst is there no more hand for hand?

Title: Re: General rules regarding blinds and hand for hand.
Post by: Nick C on September 16, 2020, 04:46:06 AM
Hello,'s been a while but let me give this a shot. On your first question the under the gun must fold, raise, or call the full bb amount of 10...unless of course the action were head to head.

Number 2...there would still be a dead button and dead SB. the UTG+1 would be the BB next hand.

Number 3...If I understand you correctly, I would handle it the same as #2. The next player clockwise to the last BB would post the BB. In your first three questions the number of players could become factors.

Number 4...I have actually seen,(on numerous occasions} where hand for hand continues until the action is down to one table.

I hope this helps. Maybe you can generate a little activity on the forum...Stay well
Title: Re: General rules regarding blinds and hand for hand.
Post by: W0lfster on September 16, 2020, 01:29:30 PM
Hello Nick,

Thank you for your reply. I tried replying earlier but it wouldn’t let me for some reason so apologies.

With number 2, are you saying the UTG +1 would post the BB as the UTG +1 the very hand after the eliminations? Or the hand after that when he/she is naturally then the BB? If the former is true then does he/she become the BB again for the next hand?

For number 4 is the example I put normal in some tournaments also? Seems a bit excessive to have it carry on until one table but then who am I to judge?

Thanks again Nick, you stay well also.
Title: Re: General rules regarding blinds and hand for hand.
Post by: Nick C on September 23, 2020, 05:17:37 AM
Hello again, W0lfster...I waited, thinking that someone might jump in and help us out. I believe if you focus more on the movement of the BB you might be better able to understand the correct movement of the button and the blinds. I'm a little rusty from lack of casino play but, the way I understand it is as follows: A player should never have the BB on consecutive hands. The exception to that rule is when one or more players are eliminated on the last hand and only two players remain at the table. In this scenario, it is possible that the button could move beyond the norm. Okay, so now we're down to head-to-head.
Title: Re: General rules regarding blinds and hand for hand.
Post by: Dave Miller on September 23, 2020, 01:20:13 PM
Sorry, but the only situation where a player might be BB twice in a row is when tables merge requiring a random seat/blind selection. Other than that rare chance...

Although wordy, here's a simple way to think about how to move the blinds, regardless of how many people are left or get eliminated and regardless of if there was a SB in the hand.

Of the remaining players, who ever is to the left of the current BB, even if they are new to the table, becomes the new BB.

If the BB wasn't eliminated, he becomes the SB. If he was eliminated, there is no SB.

The player to the right of the SB (or to the right of the BB if there is no SB) who had been dealt into the hand, becomes (or remains) the button. This may mean players new to the table must sit out a hand. In rare cases, they sit out multiple hands. It also means that in rare cases, the button moves backwards.

This also applies to going to heads up. Regardless of how many players got eliminated, and regardless of whether there was a SB, the remaining player to the left of the BB becomes the next BB. The other player becomes the SB - even if he just was the SB. The new SB also becomes the button, even if he just was the button.