PokerTDA

LIVE CASH GAME POKER RULES DISCUSSION => Live Cash Game Rules Questions => Topic started by: Luca P. on March 11, 2018, 07:45:40 PM

Title: Rake on split pots and side pots together
Post by: Luca P. on March 11, 2018, 07:45:40 PM
Hi All, I had this situation on a cash game 1/1 with rake 5% capped at 5 (max pot is 100 then)
At the showdown, we have a main pot (60) and a side pot (50)
Main pot is split, while side pot is won entirely by a player (who split the main obv and wins 80).
Our house rules dictate that we do not rake split pots, but now the question is: would you rake the side pot that was not split?
If yes, how much would you take, considering the cap at 5 for pots over 100?
My dealer decided to rake the side pot for 2 because, should he take rake from the main as well, it would be capped to 5.
Title: Re: Rake on split pots and side pots together
Post by: Dave Miller on March 12, 2018, 07:52:22 AM
No rake from split pots? That’s a great, player friendly rule. 5% is also very player friendly. That considered, I think the dealer did the right thing.

Had the main pot not been split, only 3 would be raked from it, so only the remaining 2 can be raked from the side.

You cannot take the full rake from the side. After all, suppose the main split pot was 78, and 3 on the side. What then? I’d say take 1 from the side. Either that or no rake at all.
Title: Re: Rake on split pots and side pots together
Post by: Nick C on March 12, 2018, 10:18:05 AM
Hi, Luca

 I agree with Dave. I have seen conflicting rules pertaining to raking side pots, but they were too complicated and often seemed to be far too harsh on the winner of a meager side pot.  I have run cash games years ago with a 5% rake with a $5 max(long ago).

 First I'd like to make mention that you seem to indicate that you are raking the pots at the end of the betting. This is a mistake that could be easily erased if you followed dealer protocol for cash games...that is to take the rake at specific intervals. i,e, first $1 taken at 20...the second at 40...the third at 60...etc. If the main pot has $55 ($2 rake) and the side pot has $6 I would never consider taking a $1 from the side pot even though it brings the total of the combined pots over $60. You might want to grab it though if the main pot winner gets it all! ;D