POKER TOURNAMENT RULES QUESTIONS & DISCUSSIONS => Non-TDA Tournament and General Poker Rules Discussion => Topic started by: Uniden32 on June 30, 2015, 09:20:25 AM

Title: Floor Call question
Post by: Uniden32 on June 30, 2015, 09:20:25 AM
Multi-table tournament, NLH

I had an interesting floor call last night, just wanted to get some feedback from some other TDs.

Seat 5 - SB 2,000
Seat 6 - BB 4,000
Seat 8 - UTG +1 silently raises to 10k, tosses out (2) 5k chips.
Folds around to Seat 3
Seat 3 - Tosses out (4) 1k chips
Seat 4 tells player that Seat 8 raised.
Seat 3 says that they want to go all-in.
and I get called over.

Dealer admits that they didn't see the raise, told player in seat 3 it was 4k to call.

No one at the table offers varying opinions on this, several players remark that they didn't realize there was a raise.

I ruled that the Player in Seat 3 had all of their options available to them, based on the fact that the dealer gave them incorrect information AND didn't announce raise.
Had the dealer not said anything, I believe my call would have been different.  I probably would have only let the Player continue to call, or fold and sacrifice the 4k.

Thoughts ?
Title: Re: Floor Call question
Post by: Brian Vickers on June 30, 2015, 10:43:24 AM
Seat 3 should have been given exactly two options: call 10k or forfeit 4k and fold, never the option to raise. Misinformation by dealer does not allow a player to turn a calling (passive action) into a raise (an aggressive action) when the chips had been wagered and were in plain view of the entire table. 
Title: Re: Floor Call question
Post by: Nick C on June 30, 2015, 02:39:00 PM
 I agree with your decision. There needs to be a time when action can be backed-up and corrected when an obvious mistake was made. I always had a tough time holding a player to an incorrect wager when misled by the dealer or even another player.

 Call it rule #1, if you'd like.