Author Topic: Unclear raise  (Read 1897 times)

Guillaume Gleize

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 229
Unclear raise
« on: September 22, 2011, 06:14:26 AM »
Hello,

NLH
A bets 800
B says "raise" and put in the middle 1x1000 2x500 in one clear motion but only says "1800" after the chips hit the table.
It's a raise of 2000 right?
Not a minraise of 1600?

Even if multiple chips sector, I follow the spirit of the single chip rule #39 because this situation is not described in the #40

GG

DCJ001

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 191
Re: Unclear raise
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2011, 06:48:22 AM »
Raise to 2000 is correct. Anything said after the chips hit the felt is irrelevant.

Stuart Murray

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 639
    • The Nuts Poker League
Re: Unclear raise
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2011, 08:55:43 AM »
once the chips are released and/or forward motion without declaration first it has to be 2,000 total

Regards
Stuart
Stuart Murray
The Nuts Poker League
South Scotland &
National Tournament Director

Guillaume Gleize

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 229
Re: Unclear raise
« Reply #3 on: September 22, 2011, 09:23:59 AM »
Thanks!

 :)

DCJ001

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 191
Re: Unclear raise
« Reply #4 on: September 22, 2011, 09:27:00 AM »
Also, Guillaume, it's a “raise of 1200 to 2000.”

Guillaume Gleize

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 229
Re: Unclear raise
« Reply #5 on: September 22, 2011, 09:47:21 AM »
Well ...

You're right: And here in France there is a big confusion on the word "raise" because we asked the players for long years to only annouce the TOTAL amount and not the added amount (they used to say "Raise of 1200" or even "Raise 1200") that now they say: "RAISE 2000"! So when we explain them that the "raise" must be at least the same that any previous one ... they donno what we are speaking about and I understand it LOL! That's why in France so many Casinos & Card rooms use the "DOUBLE THE PREVIOUS TOTAL AMOUNT" simple raise rule!

Personnaly I use the "American" raise rule (TDA).

 ;)