Author Topic: dealer misunderstood action on an all'in situation  (Read 2624 times)

Luca P.

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 138
    • Alea Casino Nottingham
dealer misunderstood action on an all'in situation
« on: July 20, 2011, 05:21:20 AM »
hello everybody,
I'm thinking at this scenario:
We are on the flop head's up, player1 checks, player2 bets, player1 raises and then player2 shoves all-in.
Now, player1 who is eating at the table says "count" to the dealer who misunderstood as "call" and exposed turn and river.
Now player1 suddendly said "I said count not call"
How whould you act in this situation?
Thank you for your answer
Card Room Manager

Alea Casino
108 Upper Parliament Street
Nottingham
NG1 6LF
Tel 0115 871 7288

Stuart Murray

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 639
    • The Nuts Poker League
Re: dealer misunderstood action on an all'in situation
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2011, 05:46:03 AM »
Both cards go back in the stub, if the player calls the stub is shuffled and a new turn and river can then be issued.

Regards
Stu
Stuart Murray
The Nuts Poker League
South Scotland &
National Tournament Director

chet

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 733
Re: dealer misunderstood action on an all'in situation
« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2011, 07:22:08 AM »
Stuart: 

I understand your answer but I think it needs some clarification.  You said that both the Turn and River cards are picked up and put back into the stub, which is shuffled and a new Turn and River placed on the board.  Just to clarify for some of the less experienced participants of this forum, what do you do with the two burn cards?  Are they left as is and only the Turn and River cards replaced?  Are they also shuffled into the stub and replaced on the board?????

Nick C

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3080
    • http://www.pokertda.com/forum/index.php?action=profile;u=557;sa=forumProfile
Re: dealer misunderstood action on an all'in situation
« Reply #3 on: July 20, 2011, 08:37:04 AM »
Chet,
 If I can attempt the answer, even though I don't recall both the turn and river being put on the board before the mistake was noticed. If that is the decision that is made, (reshuffle the turn and river), I would leave the burn cards on the table because they were both the proper burns. I always tell the dealers not to do anything until the betting round is complete. The player might not call the bet, and the hand would be over, no re-shuffle necessary. The fact that there is no more betting, because one player went all-in, makes this the right call. I don't recall ever reading a procedure rule for this scenario.
« Last Edit: July 20, 2011, 06:28:12 PM by Nick C »

Stuart Murray

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 639
    • The Nuts Poker League
Re: dealer misunderstood action on an all'in situation
« Reply #4 on: July 20, 2011, 08:14:04 PM »
apologies for the delay in responding, both the exposed cards go back in the stub (the undealt portion of the deck) which is reshuffled (to give the turn and river a chance at being what they were originally.  Both burn cards from turn and river have already been issued so they must remain as burn cards and not re-shuffled.  The muck is also left alone during this process and must not be re-shuffled into the stub when re-dealing the turn and river.

Regards
Stuart
Stuart Murray
The Nuts Poker League
South Scotland &
National Tournament Director

chet

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 733
Re: dealer misunderstood action on an all'in situation
« Reply #5 on: July 20, 2011, 09:39:58 PM »
TY!!

Brian Vickers

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 451
  • Poker Manager
Re: dealer misunderstood action on an all'in situation
« Reply #6 on: July 21, 2011, 08:08:16 AM »
Sounds like angle shoot... why wouldn't he alert the dealer when he burned and turned the turn card before he could get the river too?  Who are these dealers who still don't tap the table between each street?
Sigh.

chet

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 733
Re: dealer misunderstood action on an all'in situation
« Reply #7 on: July 21, 2011, 08:46:26 AM »
Brian:

For some reason, I got the impression that this was a player dealt game.  I guess it doesn't really make any difference.  If player 1 has his mouth full and can't speak clearly, is that any different than the player wearing headphones and doesn't hear the verbal declaration in front of him of "Raise to 1000" and says "call" thinking he is only calling the 200 Big Blind?

In my little pea brain, I can make the case for holding the player to the call and letting the hand play out.

Flame On,   :)