Author Topic: single oversized chip from the small blind  (Read 7004 times)

JennyA3160

  • TDA Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
single oversized chip from the small blind
« on: May 30, 2011, 11:25:18 AM »
Tournament Play...Blinds are 100/200. Three players enter the pot for the 200. Small blind, without declaring anything, adds one 500 chip to the pot. Is this a raise or call? Does the "one chip rule apply" even though the small blind already had one 100 chip in the pot?
« Last Edit: May 30, 2011, 11:29:58 AM by JennyA3160 »

MikeB

  • Administrator
  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1054
Re: single oversized chip from the small blind
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2011, 01:00:11 PM »
It is a call because the SB did not announce raise before the overchip hit the table surface. 

The SB's initial bet of 100 (the small blind) is already irretrievably in the pot as a completed bet and the SB can fold without taking any further action. The action the SB is facing is 100, not 200. When facing a bet of 100 the SB tosses out a single overchip without declaring raise. Thus the SB is not effectively putting out two chips (a 100 and a 500), because the 100 is already bet.

« Last Edit: May 30, 2011, 01:03:55 PM by MikeB »

Brian Vickers

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 451
  • Poker Manager
Re: single oversized chip from the small blind
« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2011, 06:58:08 AM »
It is a call because the SB did not announce raise before the overchip hit the table surface. 

The SB's initial bet of 100 (the small blind) is already irretrievably in the pot as a completed bet and the SB can fold without taking any further action. The action the SB is facing is 100, not 200. When facing a bet of 100 the SB tosses out a single overchip without declaring raise. Thus the SB is not effectively putting out two chips (a 100 and a 500), because the 100 is already bet.



100% right.  They either need to announce raise first, or when they put in the $500 chip, pick up the $100 chip with it and then set it all down to signify that they are betting $600.  Just throwing out the $500 without any other motion would always be a call in this spot.

chet

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 733
Re: single oversized chip from the small blind
« Reply #3 on: May 31, 2011, 11:38:10 AM »
Brian:  I don't think the player should be able to put in the 500 chip, pick-up the 100 chip and set it back down, to me that is a string bet.  I would only allow the raise if the player made a verbal declaration of "raise" and put the 500 chip in the pot along with the 100 chip for a total of 600.  The only exception would be if the player said "raise" and also an amount.

Brian Vickers

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 451
  • Poker Manager
Re: single oversized chip from the small blind
« Reply #4 on: May 31, 2011, 12:50:37 PM »
Sorry, I don't think I was being clear with what I meant.  If he threw the $500 in on top of the $100 and then picked up the $100 chip, then yes I agree with that being a string.

What I meant by that was if the player has $500 in his hand, reaches out towards the $100 chip and with the $500 chip still in his hand picks up the $100 chip.  He then releases both chips at the same time to show that it is $600.  This motion can be done fluidly in a way that makes it very clear what the action is.  If he had released any chip into the pot first then I would call it a string.