Author Topic: Rule 31 vs rule 33  (Read 2579 times)

pabdex

  • TDA Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Rule 31 vs rule 33
« on: May 20, 2011, 10:38:06 AM »
Here is a situation that I really can't figure out how to rule on:
Preflop, blinds are 50-75. The UTG player throws 4x25 (total 100) in the pot. Rule 31 shouldn't apply since it's clearly not 50% more than the bet faced. But removing one chip does not leave LESS than a call as rule 33 states that it has to in order for it to be a call. So, is this a raise or a call??

Stuart Murray

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 639
    • The Nuts Poker League
Re: Rule 31 vs rule 33
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2011, 10:48:51 AM »
I would rule it a call, as it doesn't meet the criteria of a raise under rule 31 and does not require clarification by rule 33.  Rule 33 is better described by, for example a player betting 1,200 and a player immediately throwing two 1,000 chips unannounced into the pot, in that circumstance it would clearly be a call as it does not meet the criteria of rule 33.

Regards
Stuart
Stuart Murray
The Nuts Poker League
South Scotland &
National Tournament Director

Nick C

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3081
    • http://www.pokertda.com/forum/index.php?action=profile;u=557;sa=forumProfile
Re: Rule 31 vs rule 33
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2011, 12:31:32 PM »
Welcome pabdex,
 Stuart is correct. The player tossing four 25's into the betting area instead of three would require the dealer to return the extra chip to the bettor, (probably assuming that they grabbed one extra by mistake). If the player tossed in five 25's, then it would have to be completed to a full minimum raise (total 150).

pabdex

  • TDA Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Rule 31 vs rule 33
« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2011, 12:17:47 AM »
Thanks for the replies guys.
Ruling it a call would have been my guess also. And the dealer did exactly as you suggested Nick.
Since the situation not completely covered by the rules, perhaps any confusion can be eliminated by a simple ammendment to the text saying that "multiple
same-denomination chips is a call if removing one chip leaves less than or equal to the call amount. (?)

Regards
Anders