Author Topic: UTG Straddle Question  (Read 3844 times)

W0lfster

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 239
UTG Straddle Question
« on: May 15, 2011, 11:01:37 AM »
Can you Straddle UTG if you have just sat down in the vacant seat between the BB player on the right and the UTG player on the left? Do you become the new UTG and can you straddle?  Or do you have to wait until a full ring of the table before you are UTG again?


Also, can players be dealt in a hand who have just sat down as soon as the first riffle shuffle has been done? OR do they have to wait until next hand where they can post the BB amount?


Thx :)

Nick C

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3081
    • http://www.pokertda.com/forum/index.php?action=profile;u=557;sa=forumProfile
Re: UTG Straddle Question
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2011, 01:48:55 PM »
That is the perfect position to straddle from , so I would say YES you can straddle immediately. The next hand you will be the BB. You have to understand that straddle rules are very different from casino to casino. There are other questions on the Forum that cover straddles much more thoroughly. Some casinos allow straddles from any position, but that is not the norm, and I've never seen it.

 Your second question would depend on the house rule for that card room. I would allow a new player to be dealt in as long as they are not seated in the SB or on the button. I don't believe that there is a rule, (in cash games), that would prevent a player from being dealt in even if his first card were backed-up (for him) as long as it was not seen by the next player.

Desi

  • TDA Member & Active Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 30
    • The Fortune Rooms
Re: UTG Straddle Question
« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2011, 08:40:28 PM »
Sorry for hijacking your thread, but I have a straddle question also.
When is it too late for a straddle to be placed? Before the cards are dealt, or once the payer has been dealt a complete hand assuming players have not touched their cards?


Desi

chet

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 733
Re: UTG Straddle Question
« Reply #3 on: June 24, 2011, 09:05:51 PM »
Generally a straddle must be made/placed before cards are dealt.  You really need to check the House Rules to answer the 2nd part of your question, but in my opinion, to allow a player to post a straddle at any time as long as players have supposedly not looked at their cards puts unnecessary pressure on the dealer.  How can the dealer know for certain that all players have not looked at their cards.

If a player can't get his straddle bet placed timely, he can always declare "Straddle" and put the chips out promptly thereafter.

But again, you need to check the house rules AND from my perspective, it does no good to argue with the floor over the house rules.  They are what they are and cannot be changed "on the spot".  You can file a complaint or request a discussion with the manager, but that isn't going to happen right away.

Spence

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 355
Re: UTG Straddle Question
« Reply #4 on: June 24, 2011, 09:32:43 PM »
Straddle must be called before the first card is dealt. That is the house rule at almost every casino. Usually it is loosely enforced though. Often times the dealer will let a person straddle so long as they have not received their initial card.