Author Topic: posting blinds confusion  (Read 3246 times)

W0lfster

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 239
posting blinds confusion
« on: March 03, 2011, 01:49:31 PM »
In cash games where lets say the sb posts his/her blind then leaves the table before the cards are dealt, does the blind stay in or not? If he/she is allowed is that person dealt cards?

Also if a player misses their sb and gets up without posting does this mean that next hand the button will move to the bb seat and becomne sb on the button?

Thx :)

chet

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 733
Re: posting blinds confusion
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2011, 07:15:29 PM »
First Question - Again that would be up to House Rules.  If the blinds stay in, then that position is dealt cards.  There is no rule against the SB player leaving his/her seat.  If done, then that person has to wait until the button passes and make up the blind before getting another hand.  They cannot wait a round and come back in the next time the SB is on them. 

Second Question - Again that would be up to House Rules.  It makes a difference whether the house uses the Moving Button rule or the Dead Button Rule.

W0lfster

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 239
Re: posting blinds confusion
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2011, 07:22:59 PM »
In this case, Im talking moving button rule as this is more common in cash games.

chet

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 733
Re: posting blinds confusion
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2011, 09:29:50 PM »
Unfortunately, someone else will have to explain the process for a moving button.  I have not played in a house that uses anything other than a dead button for the last 10 years.

JasperToo

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 328
Re: posting blinds confusion
« Reply #4 on: March 24, 2011, 08:20:04 AM »
If the player actually posts the blind as stated then the seat gets cards whether he is at the table or not.

Your question about the button comes up in this first scenario as well as the second one you pose but only if the player is still away from the table after his small blind hand.  Here is how it would work: ( if he made it back in time for the next deal he would get the button and play would move normally)

Player A: On button
Player B: SB - posts and leaves the table.  every seat gets a hand pot is pushed and the button moves(if player returns immediately)to the seat of  player B
Player C: BB
Player D:
Player E:

But let's say he didn't come right back, then with a moving button the play would be like so.

Player A: he's cool
Player B: no hand - no button - the button is moved past this seat to player C
Player C: Now has the button !  BUT he still has to post his small blind!
Player D: posts his BIG BLIND like as if he
Player E: posts a big blind
 Yes, two small blinds and one big one.  After this hand then life is on track and we move on.  The player that posted his small blind and left the seat can take a hand anytime he returns to the table without having to post.

But now the next hand:

Player A: still cool
Player B: maybe he post and takes a hand (or gets a hand if he posted his small blind)
Player C: He's cool
Player D: Post a SMALL blind
Player E: Posts a SMALL blind as well
Player F: Post a BIG blind

After this the button and blinds are correct and play moves normally

The player that gets up from the small blind WITHOUT posting makes the button move and blinds posted as above and it does mean that when he comes back to the table he must post or wait for the BB to come back to his seat.

Just remember SMALL BIG BIG then SMALL SMALL BIG and you'll see what's happening.  everybody pays.

Of course, some places just move the button past the empty seat and have the players in the new SB and BB positions post as normal.  it speeds things up a bit even though it allows one player a FREE or CHEAPER hand. 

Spence

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 355
Re: posting blinds confusion
« Reply #5 on: March 24, 2011, 05:50:16 PM »
As per your house rule,if you opt to miss the small blind, can you come back one hand later to play the button by posting a small blind on it? Or would you instead have to wait another hand for the button to pass you, then pay your small blind and continue? It seems to me that if you were allowed to post your small blind on the button then that would create an advantage of sorts. You would never have to pay your small blind while out of position.
Am I missing something or is this a common problem? And yes I have played in a room that did it this way. We all took a walk on our small blind then came back to play it on our button. ALL of us.

Nick C

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3080
    • http://www.pokertda.com/forum/index.php?action=profile;u=557;sa=forumProfile
Re: posting blinds confusion
« Reply #6 on: March 25, 2011, 11:56:52 AM »
Jasper your example is too hard for me to follow, sorry.

Specer Wood, a player that posted the BB and then walks away and is not at the table for the next hand should not be allowed to come back on the button for the reason you mentioned. The player should be forced to sit out two more hands, post the "dead small" that he missed and play when the button passes him. There are card rooms that allow players to "buy the button" but not if they already played the BB at that table.

JasperToo

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 328
Re: posting blinds confusion
« Reply #7 on: March 25, 2011, 05:42:05 PM »
hey spence, what Nick said is very correct. 

Basically, if a player post the BB and plays the hand but gets up on the next hand without posting the SB then the button MOVES past his seat on that hand.  The guy that was would be posting the BB still does but then so does the guy to his left.  Now there are two BB's out there.  The next hand the button would move PAST the once absent players seat to the guy who just paid the 1st BB who post's a SB.  The player to the left that just posted the 2nd BB also posts a SB like he normally would and the third player posts a BB just like he normally would.  The hand after that, all is normal.

The dude that got up can come back in on that hand after his absence but he must post the dead SB and he does NOT get the button. He would be in the cut off.

Spence

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 355
Re: posting blinds confusion
« Reply #8 on: March 25, 2011, 06:40:36 PM »
We used moving button rules for years at the last casino I worked in. Looks like that is not the norm nowadays. The other casino's in the area used the dead button rule. I'm not partial to either but I guess I did find the odd casino that played by dead button rules and yes you could miss your SB and instead post it on the next hand when the button would be dead on your seat.
If any other card rooms are doing it this way, you should take a strong look at the advantage this is causing and correct it for the benefit of all.