How do blind bets affect substantial action?

(1/3) > >>

Ok so weird situation, thought I'd get some of your opinions.

Limit cash game, betting is capped blind, before any cards are pitched. So sb, bb, raise, raise, raise, raise (cap)
During the pitch, on the second pass, you realize the puck is in the wrong spot, wasn't moved after last hand.
You're not even done pitching, normally you stop pitching and call a misdeal and correct the puck because there hasn't been any action.
In this situation, are you considering all those blind raises as action? Technically it is substantial action, but when does action become action? I mean the pitch wasn't even complete.

Your thoughts.....

None of those actions are considered actions until the last card is pitched.

Nick C:

 I don't quite understand. You said: "During the pitch, on the second pass, you realized the puck was in the wrong spot...."

 If the error were noticed before any player received his complete starting hand, I would stop the deal, correct the button, and deal over. Once any player has his complete starting hand, I'm not sure if it would be that easy to correct the mistake. Therefore, I would probably continue dealing and let the hand playout.

 There are rules written that "force" blind bettors to suffer the consequences of their actions. i,e, raising blind and then realizing that you have three hole cards instead of two. Your hand is dead! I will handle this in a similar fashion.

 You might be able to convince me to handle the situation differently if it were a tournament, but for now, in a cash game I'm sticking to my answer.


--- Quote from: Uniden32 on March 23, 2017, 11:42:53 AM ---None of those actions are considered actions until the last card is pitched.

--- End quote ---

I wouldn't necessarily say that. Because before the puck receives their last card you could very well already have substantial action. Not talking blind bets, just something as simple as fold fold, fold, or call, fold, or fold, call, or raise, fold.
UTG could look at his 1st card, see an ace and shove cuz he's short stack, as soon as the next person folds you have substantial action and that could happen before the puck receives their last card.
So I don't think you can say that substantial action can only occur after the last card is dealt.

Nick C:

 I did not say that. I said I consider substantial action as long as "any single player" has received his complete hand ( Two down cards in hold'em or four in omaha). The Blinds are irrelevant, it's the action (in turn) that my opinion, it makes no difference when the raise occurs, or whether the player looked at his cards or not.

 If the button error were discovered before the second card were dealt to the SB I would correct the button and redeal. Beyond that, play should continue.


[0] Message Index

[#] Next page

Go to full version