Author Topic: One Stud question and One MIXED game question  (Read 743 times)

Brian Vickers

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 451
  • Poker Manager
One Stud question and One MIXED game question
« on: October 13, 2016, 04:26:28 PM »
Q1: In Stud, if a player is accidentally skipped when dealing 7th street, how do you correct this?  Ex: Player A is dealt 7th face down, Player B is skipped, Player C is dealt 7th and has already brought it into his other down cards before Player B has a chance to correct it.


Q2: In a MIXED Game, if a player misses his blind on a button based game and the game switches to Stud, may he re-enter the game during the Stud round?

MikeB

  • Administrator
  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1055
Re: One Stud question and One MIXED game question
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2016, 01:56:29 PM »
Brian: interesting cases and I don't know of any exact conventional rules, so IMO it's house rules here on both.

Q1: In Stud, if a player is accidentally skipped when dealing 7th street, how do you correct this?  Ex: Player A is dealt 7th face down, Player B is skipped, Player C is dealt 7th and has already brought it into his other down cards before Player B has a chance to correct it.

You can't stop the betting or declare a misdeal, and B has to have a card. Universally, that leaves only the next card in the stub, which would have been C's proper card in order. Likewise C has B's proper card. The law of randomness applies and play must proceed.

The only house option to the above after B is dealt the last card would be to allow B and C to declare all-in prior to the opening bet, but that would be a house rule. I don't hate it. The bottom line is that players join the game with the risk that they may occasionally be dealt cards using the randomness law.

Q2: In a MIXED Game, if a player misses his blind on a button based game and the game switches to Stud, may he re-enter the game during the Stud round?
Please give an example of this... at what point did Player A (the missed blind) join the game? Was he ever dealt a hand in the button round, etc.?
« Last Edit: October 14, 2016, 01:59:18 PM by MikeB »

Uniden32

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
  • Tournament Director at the Isle Casino
Re: One Stud question and One MIXED game question
« Reply #2 on: October 14, 2016, 02:47:50 PM »
Q1: In Stud, if a player is accidentally skipped when dealing 7th street, how do you correct this?  Ex: Player A is dealt 7th face down, Player B is skipped, Player C is dealt 7th and has already brought it into his other down cards before Player B has a chance to correct it.

A1.  Player get's the next card off the deck.  I'm not in favor of using the exposed 7th street rule for this.

Q2: In a MIXED Game, if a player misses his blind on a button based game and the game switches to Stud, may he re-enter the game during the Stud round?

A2.  In our mixed game, the player is allowed to play the Stud round, and must post his blind in the next blind game.  If he decides to leave again before posting, or doesn't want to post when the next blind game comes up, he can not play until he does.
Ralph Brandt
Tournament Coordinator
Isle Casino - Pompano Beach, FL
@uniden32

Nick C

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3081
    • http://www.pokertda.com/forum/index.php?action=profile;u=557;sa=forumProfile
Re: One Stud question and One MIXED game question
« Reply #3 on: October 18, 2016, 08:15:42 AM »
I agree with Ralph (Uniden32) about not using the exposed 7th street rule in this situation.

I'm not familiar with the mixed game ruling, although, Ralph's solution sounds right, and seems fair.

I'd like to add another solution we used to apply if substantial action had occurred and more than one player were skipped...we would use the second card from the bottom for randomization after the top card was given to the first skipped player.