Author Topic: question about 2 situations  (Read 3102 times)

The Hitman

  • TDA Member & Active Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 18
question about 2 situations
« on: March 23, 2010, 05:56:42 AM »
Hello,

I have 2 specific cases to expose:

1. MTT, hand for hand is in effect, we're at the bubble, only one player have to bust to get in the money.
2 players are all'in, they bust at the same time,they've got the same stack amount: who gets paid?

2. river show-down: one player has three cards (THNL), are the cards alive?

Thank you again!

Georg

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 58
    • Concord Card Casino
Re: question about 2 situations
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2010, 07:17:39 AM »
Hello!

1) I would say they split the money.

2) The hand is dead. It is the players responsibility to ensure he has the right amount of cards all the time. He also does not get any of his chips back.

Georg

chet

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 734
Re: question about 2 situations
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2010, 08:21:00 AM »
Georg has it exactly right for both situations

Stuart Murray

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 639
    • The Nuts Poker League
Re: question about 2 situations
« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2010, 08:48:00 AM »
Georg is correct for both situations the first pay-out spot would be split evenly between the two players, naturally if one player had more chips they would cash.  If it was in the money and two players had the same amount of chips at the same table the best hand between them would take the higher cash placing (or point placing) and again if they both had the same hand in the money with the same amount of chips they would be paid as a split between the two prizes.

With regard to situation 2 the player has a dead hand as it is his responsibility to ensure he has the correct number of cards to play the hand, in the same way if he had a joker or the instructions for bridge as one of his hole cards his hand would be dead.  He has played the hand and accepted his hole cards so therefore the onus lies with himself.

Best Regards
Stuart
Stuart Murray
The Nuts Poker League
South Scotland &
National Tournament Director

The Hitman

  • TDA Member & Active Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 18
Re: question about 2 situations
« Reply #4 on: March 23, 2010, 02:48:22 PM »
Thank you!

One more question about point n1:
In this tournament, there's no cash to win, only tickets for a big event.
for information, they had also the same hand when they busted.
The buy-in is 1075 euro, and 10% of the players get one ticket (8500 euro) and the first 3 players also win a WSOP package (10000 euros).

As a tournament director, what decision would be correct for those 2 players?

See you!

Stuart Murray

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 639
    • The Nuts Poker League
Re: question about 2 situations
« Reply #5 on: March 23, 2010, 04:46:56 PM »
Difficult one.  Technically if 20 players are 'in the money/points/prizes' and 2 players bust with the same amount of chips at different tables and or the same hand and chips at the same table they have both achieved 20th position and 21st place does not exist.  It would therefore be your or your circuit organisers decision as to how best deal with the situation as obviously they cannot therefore split the prize as it is non-monitory.

Your decision IMO could be neither cashes or as a stroke of ingenuity they could play heads up for the position or your sponsor may wish to donate an extra prize, reduce the prize to something that could be dispensed to both players etc.  It would be down to a ruling under rule #1

Regards
Stuart
Stuart Murray
The Nuts Poker League
South Scotland &
National Tournament Director

chet

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 734
Re: question about 2 situations
« Reply #6 on: March 23, 2010, 10:32:14 PM »
Dogzy:  This appears to be a situation where you should sit down with the event sponsors and come up with a 'house or event' rule for this exact situation.  In addition to the problem with positions 20 and 21, you potentially have a similar situation with positions 3 and 4 but with even a larger amount at stake.

I am not going to make any suggestions, because I have absolutely zero knowledge of the circumstances/specifics that apply to your location, but I am sure you can resolve this with some thoughtful consideration.

Chet

Stuart Murray

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 639
    • The Nuts Poker League
Re: question about 2 situations
« Reply #7 on: March 24, 2010, 09:09:13 AM »
Very well spotted Chet, something I overlooked myself regarding spots 3 & 4.

Stuart
Stuart Murray
The Nuts Poker League
South Scotland &
National Tournament Director