Author Topic: Leaving behind less than BB when player make bet or raise?  (Read 3494 times)

pastor

  • TDA Member & Active Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 24
Leaving behind less than BB when player make bet or raise?
« on: October 18, 2014, 03:20:18 AM »
Tournament: 400 - 800 ante 75

Play.1 - bet 3K
Play.2 - raise 8.8K and leave behind one chip of 25.

Q. Is this all-in? Is a BB min. to leave behind when player make bet or raise?

My opinion is that only in call situation player can stay and continue to play with chips less than BB.

Nick C

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3081
    • http://www.pokertda.com/forum/index.php?action=profile;u=557;sa=forumProfile
Re: Leaving behind less than BB when player make bet or raise?
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2014, 05:22:46 AM »
Pastor,

 There is no rule that I know of that would prevent a player from not pushing all his chips into the pot, as long as his raise was a legal amount. My answer is; no, he is not all-in. There are many situations when players have less chips than the amount of a BB remaining after a raise.
« Last Edit: October 19, 2014, 06:23:26 AM by Nick C »

chet

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 733
Re: Leaving behind less than BB when player make bet or raise?
« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2014, 08:02:17 AM »
Absolutely agree with Nick!!  (Wonder of wonders  ;D ;D ;D )

The ONLY Forced Bets that I am aware of are the blinds and the bring-in in the various games.  Otherwise a player is permitted to bet any amount he or she chooses up to the total of their stack (in no limit games).

For example what would you do if this was a huge limit game, say 1000 - 2000 and a player has 2025 in chips, force him to raise?  That doesn't seem right, so that player in any game I am running can "fold", "call" or "raise" but the choice of what action to take is up to the player.

Tristan

  • TDA Member & Veteran Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 453
Re: Leaving behind less than BB when player make bet or raise?
« Reply #3 on: October 28, 2014, 10:41:52 AM »
Same here...that is NOT all-in.
Tristan
@TristanWilberg on Twitter