Recent Posts

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 10
This is indeed a very unusual spot happened to me not long ago in a Final table.

So here is  my humble opinion : The way i see it ,it's a house error and both players had their share in it.

Ruling 1 : Ask sb to call the all in or forfeit his 2400 ( i wouldn't suggest it since he has advantage over BB )

Ruling 2 : Both players showdown run the whole board and move on to the next hand (Minimum damage to both players ) not fair to the other opponents though.

Ruling 3 : Similar to 2 ,Force bb to Min raise ,sb has option to call or fold and forfeit. If he call they both are passive so we go to the river and the best hand wins. This is what i did anyway ,it was a huge misunderstanding it would be very unfair for a player to bust out due to a silly mistake.
Hi Ash,

I agree with Mike on the ruling in your situation described in the original post (OP).  There is a similar scenario that we can discuss.

On the River:
- Player 1 bets.
- Player 2 raises.
- Player 1 exposes his cards in an attempt to get a read on player 2.

This is clearly an etiquette violation as covered in 2017 TDA Rule #67: No Disclosure, which prohibits showing a hand to another player.  Etiquette violations are subject to penalty as described in Rule #70 and #71. 

In my area, local rules vary but usually this practice is strongly discouraged and could result in a warning and/or limiting Player 1's pending action to either folding or calling.  When it does happen, the question of whether or not to kill (fold) player 1's hand arises. 

The scenario can be more troublesome when:

On the River:
- Player 1 bets.
- Player 2 raises.
- Player 1 exposes his cards, perhaps an attempt to get a read on player 2.
- Player 2 exposes his cards, perhaps thinking he was called.

Obviously, player 1 has obtained free information from player 2, to which he was not entitled.  Others at the table may be suspicious of collusion regardless of which player showed the winning hand. 

1: If the exact cards are identifiable from Player 1's exposure, then I'd return them and he can call, re-raise, or fold.

2: If the cards are not identifiable then I'd award the pot to Player 2. It's player's responsibility to protect his hand and no refunds will be made if live cards are erroneously killed by the dealer (TDA Rule 65).

Hi guys

Player 1 bets, player 2 raises, player 1 didn't see the raise and opens his cards thinking a call of player 2.
The dealer mucks the cards (thinking a fold of player 1)
What decision to take?
General discussion of poker industry topics / Re: Poker Dealer jobs
« Last post by GreggPath on October 08, 2018, 12:29:11 PM »
Thank you for both for that information! I still have a lot of variables I am considering before actually moving forward, but this was very helpful.
Poker TDA Rules & Procedures Questions, General / Re: Some undercall cases
« Last post by Nick C on September 26, 2018, 07:29:54 PM »

 There are times when the call is an obvious mistake. I will never be in favor of forcing a player to call when it is quite obvious he or she had no intention of calling. Head to head action could be more of a problem but in a multi-way hand as long as the next player has not reacted, I am in favor of a retraction. Too often we are quick to assume that the player making the obvious mistake will learn a lesson by his lack of attention. The fact is, too often he is awarded a windfall of chips he did not deserve to win. Consider BB of 300...raised to 3,000 followed by a call in the amount of 300. It's obvious the calling player was unaware that the pot was raised. Could you imagine being the player that raised to 3000 on a bluff? A bluff that would have succeeded if the next player was allowed to withdraw his bet.

Poker TDA Rules & Procedures Questions, General / Re: Some undercall cases
« Last post by Ash on September 24, 2018, 05:30:32 PM »
Thank you Boris for the clarification
Official Poker TDA Recommended Procedures, Latest Version / Re: Betting table with line
« Last post by David21 on September 24, 2018, 01:54:01 PM »
Thank you very much. BillM16.
What would be the most advisable?
Often, the 'line' is just decorative. It's meaningless.

In rooms where it's meaningless, or not there, motion past the cards is the "forward motion" that is looked for.

Also, in some rooms, forward motion means that the entire stack in the player's hand is the bet. But most rooms allow the motion followed by cutting a portion to make the bet, bringing the remainder back.

Bottom line: They are both subject to 'house rule', which can be different for cash vs tournament.

In either case, the key is to watch for a delay between making stacks, or backward motion followed by another forward motion. That's always a string bet.

On a side note, what's the purpose of the line in rooms where it's meaningless?

It's so the maintenance guy who changes the felt can measure and make sure it's correctly positioned.
Poker TDA Rules & Procedures Questions, General / Re: Some undercall cases
« Last post by Boris Mauboussin on September 24, 2018, 07:27:52 AM »
Hey Nick,

I might understand that someone would rule it in another way if this happens on a regular casino tournament because you probably need customers to be satisfied, but I work only on multiple days events. Most of the players are seasonned and some are pro players and they want the game to stick to the rules and this the way I want to satisfy them.

Players are supposed to pay attention to the game, if they want to watch their favorite show on their ipad, it is a call they make.
Also, by allowing a bet to be withdrawn from time to time you do not reward players who are actually paying attention to the game.

So in heads'up case, throw only one chip is always a call whatever it is an undersized or oversized chip?

In situation 1), if we have another player calling the 20k before the player throwing a 1k chip, the latter could complete or surrender ( but force him to complete the big blind)

Am i right?

I think I would pay attention to which street the action happens.
If it's on a river and the 1K player is the last to act before showdown, it could be a trick to make the other player to show their hands and use the undercall rule at his advantage to avoid putting the 19k chips overlay. (It is not fictionnal, case happened in Paris last year)

If this is another street, and the action has been frozen by the dealer, I would rule as complete/surrender. But if this is an all-in situation and 1K player last to act with no further action possible, It would be a mandatory call.

In the case 1K is less than a big bling and the player want to surrender, he would have to surrender a full big blind bet. It makes sense to me.
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 10